atonement should atone

two words: interminable tripe

vanilla ice

Atonement is, in all honesty, convoluted dross. The oh-so clever bit is the self-reflexive writer writing about a self-reflexive book, creating a mirror hall of infinite novels -and that’s just within the text, McEwan hasn’t even entered the picture yet: It is overwrought and the gimmick isn’t worth wading through unsympathetic characters and uninspiring prose.

Then to find Atonement is the Ice-Ice Baby of the literary world! Read: Did McEwan Plagiarize? Why is this book even on the list! I’m disappointed, Richard.

Maybe the movie is better, but I don’t want to know.

soundtrack
ice-ice baby-vanilla ice
the embrace-michael nyman
the heart asks pleasure first-michael nyman
the promise-michael nyman

6 responses to “atonement should atone

  1. He is a prolific writer, the critics were spoilt for choice but they selected this one, and it’s the only one I’ve read. If you can recommend something better, although I am loath to since I’m still recovering from the torture of Atonement, I will give it a try.

Leave a comment