the milk of wrath

So it turns out The Grapes of Wrath is not the kind of book one can ‘slam down’. It is in fact the kind of book that changes you.

Steinbeck is affecting me in ways I hadn’t anticipated. I cry when I read all the time, but never like this. Today I wept in the milk aisle at the supermarket because I. Am. Changed.

My children will inherit the earth not long from now and a worm farm, a little recycling and footing it where possible are simply inadequate in securing a healthy planet for them. My commitment to making this human-infested shithole better begins and ends with ethical consumption.

Everyday.

Leave a Reply

