we need to talk about tilda

Yippieeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

Not on The List, but the BBC film adaptation of We Need to Talk About Kevin, directed by Lynne Ramsay (once sacked and replaced by Peter Jackson in The Lovely Bones) and led by the amazing Tilda Swinton, gives me mad chills.

We Need To talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver is a thoughtful and riveting thriller about the relationship between a New York career-oriented mother and her unusual son who grows up to be a Columbine-style mass murderer. Its discourse on nature v. nurture is compelling, so much so it fucked me up royally for weeks, and I began frequently and randomly hugging my kids for much longer that they were comfortable with.

I cannot wait to see the movie.

3 responses to “we need to talk about tilda

  1. I know each to their own, but I hated that book. Probably not a good read when 6 months pregnant with a boy…

  2. i can totally understand. it skewed my perspective on motherhood for a little while, but i kinda relished the agony it put me through. if a book can have that kind of an effect, it’s a win for me.

Leave a Reply

