that song in my head

There is always a song in my head, a spontaneous soundtrack of sorts, shedding light on whatever I do: Snoop Dogg and Alanis Morisette’s lyrics mimic Dedalus and Bloom’s antics; Bob Marley’s Babylon System and RATM’s Killing in the Name were my anthems for Animal Farm; I listen to Michael Nyman’s Piano to get in the mood for Atonement... So why not include ‘that song in my head/on my iPod’ in my posts? It is an integral part of my reading process. Of everything I do.

The next book in line is The Adventures of Augie March. So guess which song is in my head. Come on, sing it with me,

But for One Crowded Hour, you were the only one in the room
And I sailed around all those bumps in the night to your beacon in the gloom
I thought I’d found my golden September in the middle of that purple June
But One Crowded Hour would lead me to my wreck and ruin

Leave a Reply

