bildungsamerican

I’m really excited about reading Saul Bellow’s The Adventures of Augie March. For one, now I know where the Victorian band gets its name from! Another is, I love The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn and this novel sounds like a modern equivalent.

wise guy

I can’t wait so I sneak a few pages on my way back from the city library, family in tow. As I’m reading, I say to Galactus,
-I love the narrator’s voice. He sounds like a real wiseguy.-
From the back seat, The Mix-Master, who’s 6 pipes in,
-You mean like Yoda?-
Galactus and I laugh for a good minute before we explain the difference between a wiseguy and a wise man/Jedi/mystery species little green guy, all the while setting a brilliant tone for this novel.

American authors have a great legacy in the bildungsroman, so let’s get stuck into it!

Leave a Reply

